The Moebius Strip + Moebius Kids (2007)

Gilles Jobin

Premiered on October 31st 2007, Théâtre de Carouge, Geneva, Switzerland
Creation of Moebius Kids on May 4th 2007, Am Stram Gram Theatre, Geneva, Switzerland

PRESENTATION

MOEBIUS ACT I AND II, LIFE THAT GOES ON
The choreographer started from the end of The Moebius Strip to recreate a work with the young dancers of Manon Hotte’s Cie Virevolte. The movement continues from one work to the next, the performers multiply, the choreography is reversed. How better to embody the transmission of life, one of the declared stakes of the first work, than by inviting a new generation of dancers to appropriate the actions and rules of the system?

For an hour and a half, adult and then teenage dancers walk around and occupy an infinite space through a grid drawn on the floor. In this abstract space, series of movements and positions spread out in irregular waves, while light structures the flow of time: the luminosity decreases as it spreads over the entire stage. In this limbo the dancers pass the baton before the light gradually increases again. The bodies have changed but the laws governing movement are the same. Although the dancers sometimes stand, floorwork is more frequent. And when a dancer “climbs” horizontally with the other bodies lying down, a shift occurs. The relationship between the body and the abstract space imagined by the choreographer for Moebius is above all a question of perspective.
Myriam Kridi, September 2007, excerpt from the Journal de l’ADC, No. 43

CREDITS

Choreography Gilles Jobin
Dancers Tamara Bacci, Jean-Pierre Bonomo, Marie-Caroline Hominal, Isabelle Rigat, Rudi Van Der Merwe
Young dancers Line Baumann, Aïcha Bouchelaghem, Julie Dubois, Julie Fahy, Jessica Girard, Océane Holdener-Bossy, Victoria Jakubec, Pablo Jobin, Claire Jousson, Loïc Lador, Elisa Megale, Nina Cachelin, Anaëlle Gauthey, Mathilde Linares, Lucie Mertenat, Olivia Nemeth, Manon Pilard, Natasha Samson, Aurore Sumi
Music Franz Treichler, Clive Jenkins
Lighting design Daniel Demont
Costumes design Gilles Jobin et Karine Vintache
Sound engineer Clive Jenkins
Assistant/repetitor Mariene Grade

The Moebius Strip 
Production Cie Gilles Jobin – Geneva, Switzerland
Co-production  Théâtre de la Ville, Paris – Théâtre Arsenic, Lausanne – Zürcher Theater Spektakel, Zürich – Music Biennale, Zagreb – Espace Pasolini, Valenciennes

Supported by  Pro Helvetia – Swiss Arts Council – Loterie RomandeCity of Lausanne – London Arts – SSAFondation Stanley Thomas Johnson – Canton de Vaud

Moebius Kids 
Production Cie Virevolte – Geneva, Switzerland
Supported by Département de l’instruction publique de l’État de Genève – City of geneva Genève – Département des affaires culturelles – Pro Helvetia – Swiss Arts Council – Fonds Mécénat des SIG – Ernst Göhner Stiftung – Loterie Romande

Gilles Jobin benefits of a triennal associated support (2007-2009) from the City of Geneva, the Canton of Geneva and Pro Helvetia -Swiss Arts Council

Gilles Jobin is an associated artist of Bonlieu Scène nationale, Annecy

INFOS +

PRESS

TOUR

2008
21-21 November : Arsenic, Lausanne, Switzerland
2007
Premiere on October 31st: Théâtre de Carouge, Geneva, Switzerland
31 October – 3 November: Théâtre de Carouge, Geneva, Switzerland

The Moebius Strip + Moebius Kids (2007)

Gilles Jobin

Création le 31 octobre 2007 Théâtre de Carouge, Genève, Suisse
Création de Moebius Kids le 4 Mai 2007 au Théâtre Am Stram Gram, Genève, Suisse

PRÉSENTATION

MOEBIUS ACTE I ET II OU LA VIE QUI CONTINUE
Le chorégraphe est parti de la fin de The Moebius Strip pour recréer une pièce avec les jeunes danseurs de la Compagnie Virevolte de Manon Hotte. Le mouvement se poursuit d’une pièce à l’autre, les interprètes se multiplient, la chorégraphie s’inverse. Comment mieux incarner la transmission de la vie, l’un des enjeux déclarés de la première œuvre, qu’en invitant une nouvelle génération de danseurs à s’approprier les actions et les règles du système ?

Pendant une heure et demie, danseurs adultes puis adolescents vont arpenter et occuper un espace infini par une grille tracée au sol. Dans cet espace abstrait, des séries de déplacements et de postures se propagent par vagues irrégulières, tandis que la lumière structure l’écoulement du temps : la luminosité décroît en même temps qu’elle s’étend au plateau tout entier. Dans ces limbes, les danseurs procèdent au passage de témoin avant que la lumière n’augmente à nouveau progressivement. Les corps ont changé mais les lois qui régissent les mouvements sont les mêmes. Si la station debout n’est pas absente, les appuis des corps au sol sont plus fréquents. Et lorsqu’un danseur « escalade », à l’horizontale, les autres corps couchés, un renversement s’opère : les rapports entre le corps et l’espace abstrait imaginé par le chorégraphe pour Moebius, se jouent avant tout de la perspective.
Myriam Kridi, septembre 2007, extrait du Journal de l’ADC, n°43

CRÉDITS

Chorégraphie Gilles Jobin 
Danseurs Tamara Bacci, Jean-Pierre Bonomo, Marie-Caroline Hominal, Isabelle Rigat, Rudi Van Der Merwe 
Jeunes danseurs Line Baumann, Aïcha Bouchelaghem, Julie Dubois, Julie Fahy, Jessica Girard, Océane Holdener-Bossy, Victoria Jakubec, Pablo Jobin, Claire Jousson, Loïc Lador, Elisa Megale, Nina Cachelin, Anaëlle Gauthey, Mathilde Linares, Lucie Mertenat, Olivia Nemeth, Manon Pilard, Natasha Samson, Aurore Sumi 
Musique Franz Treichler, Clive Jenkins 
Lumières Daniel Demont 
Son Clive Jenkins 
Création costumes Gilles Jobin et Karine Vintache 
Assistante/répétitrice Mariene Grade 

The Moebius Strip 
Production Cie Gilles Jobin – Genève, Suisse
Coproduction Théâtre de la Ville, Paris – Théâtre Arsenic, Lausanne – Zürcher Theater Spektakel, Zürich – Music Biennale, Zagreb – Espace Pasolini, Valenciennes
Soutiens Pro Helvetia – Fondation suisse pour la cultureLoterie Romande, Ville de Lausanne – London Arts – SSA, Fondation Stanley Thomas JohnsonCanton de Vaud

Moebius Kids 
Production Cie Virevolte – Genève, Suisse
Avec l’appui du Département de l’instruction publique de l’État de GenèveVille de Genève – Département des affaires culturellesPro Helvetia – Fondation suisse pour la cultureFonds Mécénat des SIGErnst Göhner StiftungLoterie Romande

Aide à la tournée 2007 La Loterie Romande, Corodis

Gilles Jobin bénéficie d’une convention de soutien conjoint pour la période 2007-2009 de la Ville de Genève, de la République et Canton de Genève et de Pro Helvetia – Fondation suisse pour la culture

Gilles Jobin est artiste associé à Bonlieu Scène nationale, Annecy

INFOS +

REVUE DE PRESSE

TOURNÉE

2008
21-21 Novembre : Arsenic, Lausanne, Suisse
2007
Première 31 Octobre : Théâtre de Carouge, Genève, Suisse
31 Octobre – 3 Novembre: Théâtre de Carouge, Genève, Suisse